2003 TIAA-CREF Paul A. Samuelson Award Winners 

January 2003

Path-Breaking Research on Social Security Wins Paul A. Samuelson Award from TIAA-CREF Institute

The eighth annual Paul A. Samuelson Award for Outstanding Scholarly Writing on Lifelong Financial security was presented to Peter A. Diamond for his book, "Taxation, Incomplete Markets, and Social Security" (MIT Press, 2003). This work analyzes the wide array of economic forces that bear on specific Social Security policy issues and on the saving decisions of individuals. Without Social Security, many workers would not save enough for retirement, according to Professor Diamond’s findings. Convincing some people to work longer and to delay receiving benefits from the strained system is also an important concern for Social Security, and the book discusses optimal retirement incentives for people with different life expectancies and diverse preferences for leisure.

Peter A. Diamond, Institute Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is widely considered the world’s foremost scholar in the field of social insurance.

To read Professor Samuelson's prepared remarks about the winners this year, click here.

TIAA-CREF Samuelson Award - 2003 Certificate of Excellence Recipient Winner

A Certificate of Excellence was awarded to Joseph P. Newhouse for his book, “ Pricing the Priceless: A Health Care Conundrum” (MIT Press, 2002). Professor Newhouse focuses on the efficiency of health care pricing and also analyzes the economic policy issues within Medicare.

Joseph P. Newhouse is John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy and Management at Harvard University and Director of the Division of Health Policy Research and Education. He holds appointments in the Medical School, the John F. Kennedy School of Government, the School of Public Health and the Faculty of Arts and Sciences.

2003 Panel of Distinguished Judges

Dora Costa,
Associate Professor of Economics,
Department of Economics,
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Michael D. Hurd,
RAND Center for the Study of Aging;
Senior Economist, RAND

Stephen A. Ross,
Franco Modigliani Professor of Finance and Economics,
Sloan School of Management,
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

John Rust,
Professor of Economics,
Department of Economics,
University of Maryland

David A. Wise,
John F. Stambaugh Professor of Political Economy,
John F. Kennedy School of Government,
Harvard University

Stephen P. Zeldes,
Benjamin Rosen Professor of Economics and Finance,
Graduate School of Business,
Columbia University

© 2014 and prior years, Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association - College Retirement Equities Fund (TIAA-CREF), New York, NY 10017