Charting the Way: New Realities for Higher Education (2010)

New York, New York
November 4-5, 2010

November 2010 |

In November 2010 the TIAA-CREF Institute convened a gathering of presidents, provosts and other senior leaders at the annual TIAA-CREF Institute Higher Education Leadership Conference (Charting the Way: New Realities for Higher Education) to explore current and future trends in the nation’s economy and in its need and support for higher education. Higher education leaders from across the country shared information and creative strategies and best practices for navigating through a period of spending cuts, reduced revenue, and capital budget constraints.

Keynote presentations exploring the causes and responses to the current challenges were delivered by Roger W. Ferguson, Jr. (President and CEO, TIAA-CREF), William G. Bowen (President Emeritus, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation; President Emeritus, Princeton University) and Cokie Roberts (Senior News Analyst, NPR News).

Conference sessions included:

Charting the Way:
Focus on the Future

Finding New Opportunities:
Voices of Experience

Meeting New Goals for Higher Education

Spotlight on the Winner of the 2012 TIAA-CREF Theodore M. Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence
William E. Kirwan, Chancellor, University System of Maryland

Conference speakers included:

  • Michael S. Bassis, President, Westminster College, Utah
  • William Bowen, President Emeritus, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
  • Kent Chabotar, President, Guilford College
  • Scott Cowen, President, Tulane University
  • Joni Finney, Vice President, The National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education; Practice Professor, Graduate School of Education, The University of Pennsylvania
  • Matthew Goldstein, Chancellor, The City University of New York
  • Janet Holmgren, President, Mills College
  • Marvalene Hughes, President, Dillard University
  • Daniel Kaufman, President, Georgia Gwinnett College
  • William Kirwan, Chancellor, University System of Maryland
  • Earl Lewis, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Emory University
  • Jamie P. Merisotis, President and CEO, Lumina Foundation
  • Mark David Milliron, Deputy Director, Postsecondary Improvement, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
  • Cokie Roberts, Senior News Analyst, NPR News
  • Peter Smith, Senior Vice President of Academic Strategies and Development, Kaplan Higher Education
  • Mary Spilde, President, Lane Community College
  • Jack Stripling, Higher Education Reporter, Inside Higher Education
  • Teresa Sullivan, President, University of Virginia
  • Carol Twigg, President and CEO, National Center for Academic Transformation
  • David Wheeler, Managing Editor, The Chronicle of Higher Education

Click here(PDF) to download the conference program and agenda.

© 2014 and prior years, Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association - College Retirement Equities Fund (TIAA-CREF), New York, NY 10017